Current Read

 Freak N Gorgeous

Author: Sebastian J. Plata

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Release Date: September 11, 2018

288 pages

Book Description (from Amazon.com):

In a world not unlike our own, there is a phenomenon called the INEXPLICABLE DEVELOPMENT–a rare occurrence with permanent consequences.

Average-looking, under-the-radar sixteen-year-old Konrad Wolnik’s life is turned upside down when, one morning, he wakes up stunningly attractive.

That same day, his classmate, Camilla Hadi, has her own transformation; the lean, pretty athlete is now devastatingly ugly.

The teens face the cruel world of high school from very different perspectives. Konrad shoots to the top of the pecking order, Camilla slips into pariah status. But soon the school starts rallying around Camilla, and Konrad’s sudden popularity sours as people blame him for her transformation. And, the truth is, so does she.

All he wants is for everyone to like him. All she wants is to destroy his perfect life.

So what if they could use each other for personal gain?

Told in dual POV, Sebastian J. Plata’s debut is a hilarious, scathing look at society’s unrealistic beauty standards and the intense pressures of high school. Perfect for fans of The DUFF and Winger.

You can always find more of Beth’s book reviews on her blog. Feel free to comment on each review and let her know if you’ve read any of the books (or want to!) and what you thought of them!

Facebook Comments